Sunday, September 10, 2006

Detroit Shock take WNBA title

Congratulations to the Detroit Shock, the newly-crowned 2006 WNBA champions!

This is the second title in four seasons for the Shock, who beat out the defending champion-Sacramento Monarchs 80-75 yesterday at Detroit's Joe Louis Arena.

Celebrate the
Detroit Shock in downtown Detroit this Tuesday, September 12, near the Spirit of Detroit statue on Jefferson Avenue.

Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick will serve as master of ceremonies for the event, which is scheduled for noon.

Shock-coach Bill Laimbeer and select players are scheduled to speak at the celebration; the 2006 Shock trophy will also be on display.

Deanna Nolan
had 24 points in the decisive Game 5 and was named MVP of the Finals.

Other key players in the final game of the 2006 post-season included Katie Smith, who scored 17 and Texas Tech-grad Plenette Pierson, who added 16.
Cheryl Ford had a double-double.

Have a question or comment on this post?
I'd love to hear from you!
E-mail me at

Technorati Tags: